Steve Earle & the Dukes will release a Guy Clark tribute album, aptly titled Guy, on March 29. The upcoming record includes 16 songs that were penned by Guy and features guest appearances from Emmylou Harris, Rodney Crowell, Terry Allen, Jerry Jeff Walker, Mickey Raphael, Shawn Camp, Verlon Thompson and Gary Nicholson.

Steve, who lists Townes Van Zandt and Guy as his two primary songwriting mentors, released a Townes tribute album in 2009. Guy passed away in March 2016 and is best known for penning tunes such as "Desperados Waiting for a Train," "L.A. Freeway," "That Old Time Feeling," "She Ain't Going Nowhere," "Let Him Roll," "Rita Ballou," and "Texas 1947."

"No way I could get out of doing this record," says Steve. "When I get to the other side, I didn't want to run into Guy having made the Townes record and not one about him. Guy wasn't really a hard record to make. We did it fast, five or six days with almost no overdubbing. I wanted it to sound live . . . When you've got a catalog like Guy's and you're only doing 16 tracks, you know each one is going to be strong."

Guy is available for pre-order now.