Dwight Yoakam and Larry Gatlin are just two of the 2019 inductees into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, in a class that also includes Marcus Hummon, Kostas Lazarides, Rivers Rutherford and Sharon Vaughn. 

The newest batch of songwriters to join the Hall of Fame were announced yesterday.

Yoakam was unable to make it to the annoucement, but he sent a video message and said, “Over the years, I've been acknowledged for the recordings I've made, but oftentimes the public's unaware that many of the songs I recorded, and many that became hits, were things that I wrote or co-wrote. So thank you for acknowledging that.”

The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Class of 2019 will officially be inducted during a gala on October 14th.