Updated June 17, 2019
Tennessee law banning hand-held cellphone use while driving takes effect July 1
There are many changes in Tennessee law coming into effect July 1. Probably one of the biggest changes is the use of cellphones while driving.
Effective July 1st, it will be illegal to use any cellular device holding it, or by supporting it with any part of your body while operating a motor vehicle upon any roadway. This does not limit the use of "Hands-Free" or Bluetooth devices, as long as the phone is not being held or supported.
Starting July 1, drivers caught in violation of the law could face a $100 fine. The citation increases to a $200 fine if the violation results in an accident.
Just as with the texting law Emergency Service workers are exempt from this as long as job related messages or calls are being made.