Updated 8/3/20

Thursday is Election Day where a number of federal, state, and local races will be decided.
Locally and across the state voters turned out in record numbers to cast their vote early.
Giles County General Election offices and candidates are County Commissioners District 6, Joseph E. Sutton, and Larry Worsham, both independent candidates.
County Commissioners District 7 has no qualified candidates.
Assessor of Property candidates is Tracy Woodard Armstrong, Carl "Bookie" Evans, Tommy Gowan, Tommy Hyatt, and Nell Maultsby, all independent candidates.
Superintendent of Roads, Barry Hyatt is an independent candidate.
School Board Member District 2, candidates are Mary McCloud and Tommy R. Pope.
School Board Member District 4, candidates are Leigh Rena Brymer and Katie Journey.
School Board Member District 6, candidates are Willa Sherrell Smith and Debra Poole Tillman.
Circuit Court Judge Part III District 22, candidate is Chris Sockwell, Republican Party Nominee.
Public Defender District 22, the candidate is Travis Jones, Republican Party Nominee.
Also on the ballot is the Giles County Sales and Use Tax Referendum.
Elkton Municipal Election includes candidates for alderman, Payton Blade, Bill Bonjour, and Bobby L. Sherrell, all independent candidates. District 1 Elkton citizens vote at the Ardmore Precinct A, located at the City of Ardmore Annex Building at 26349 Main Street, Ardmore, TN, and Precinct B located at Almeda Gilbert Fellowship Hall, 230 Main Street Prospect.
Lynnville Municipal Election includes mayor and alderman. Running for mayor are Patty Patterson, Floyd Pratt, and Robert E. White, all independent candidates. District 4 Lynnville Precinct A is located at Reid Theatre, 105 Mill Street, Lynnville, and Precinct B is located at Odd Fellows Hall Church, 1875 Odd Fellows Hall Road.
Running for alderman positions for Lynnville are, Charles Jett, William Morse, and Carrie Riner, all independent candidates.
Minor Hill Municipal Election includes candidates for alderman, Chad Ingram, and Roger Thompson, both independent candidates. District 2 Minor Hill Precinct A is located at Minor Hill Community Center, 165 Wray Branch Road Minor Hill, TN, and Precinct B is located at Airport, Abernathy Field Airport, 326 Abernathy Field Road.
Other polling places: District 3, Precinct A Richland Trace Market, 19326 Highway 64 West and Precinct B, Campbellsville United Methodist Church, 10601 Campbellsville Road.
District 5 includes Precinct A, Tennessee College of Applied Technology, 1233 East College Street, and Precinct B, Agri Park, 2014 Elkton Pike.
District 6 includes Precinct A, Martin Methodist College Colonial Hall, 433 W. Madison Street, and Precinct B, Bridgeforth Middle School, 1051 Bridgeforth Circle.
District 7 includes Precinct A, Giles County High School Vo-Ed Building, 200 Shelia Frost Dr, and Precinct B, Pulaski Recreation Center, 333 E. College Street.
The polls open at 8 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. WKSR 100.9 will have the election returns with coverage and results shortly after 7 p.m.
If you have any questions, contact the Giles County Election Commission at 931-363-2424.